top of page

Comparing apples with apples - What’s the awards all about?

Recently we were stoked to receive the prestigious Sapphire award at the 2023 Registered Master Builder House of the Year Awards. ⁠

The Sapphire award recognises outstanding achievement in building excellence and is awarded to companies who win three or more Regional Supreme titles.⁠ We have taken the Regional Supreme title home in 2018, 2021 and 2022. We have also won three National Category Awards, sixteen Gold Awards, two Silver Awards and numerous Lifestyle awards.

We thought it might be eye opening for those interested to understand how these awards are earned and what the results really mean.

How does the judging work?

All entrants in each of the award categories are judged by the same panel of two judges throughout the country e.g. a New Home up to $450,000 in Kaitaia will be judged by the same two people as a property, in that category, in Invercargill.

The judges go through each property and decide on the score against the set criteria for its category.

Each property is judged against a scorecard of 2000 points (1300 Workmanship and 700 Design, Style and Functionality). Note: Multi Unit properties are judged (1100 Workmanship and 900 Design, Style, Functionality and general consideration). Properties are then awarded either Gold, Silver, Bronze or no award as set out in the diagram below.

The scoring is calculated as follows: Renovations Workmanship = 65% and Retention or creation of character integration and future proofing = 35% New Homes Workmanship = 65%, and Design, functionality and style = 35% Multi Unit (Apartments, Duplexes, Terrace Housing) Workmanship = 55%, and Design, functionality, style and general considerations = 45%

Want to know more: There’s a great video by two of last years judges which explains the awards judging process in detail. Find this here

To understand the quality marks awarded check them out here



calley homes tauranga builders.png
bottom of page